eFax messages - Warning Reminder

danger iconYet again, the infected attachments of so-called eFaxes are doing the rounds again, this time alledgedly referring to a fax sent from booking.com and sent via (alledgedly) efax.com which of course is faked. If you receive such an email, bin it, trash it but under no circumstances open the attachment, it'll probably send your banking details to a hackers or at the very least, turn your computer into a sender of further infected emails to all in your address book.


Fake Funds has been DONATED eMail warning!

danger iconJust a word of warning, some Brazilian spammer is out there trying to con you into responding to an eMail informing you that "Funds has been DONATED to you Reply to this email: (onu_claims2 {at} 163.com) for details.

NEVER reply to this sort of spam, they only want you to confirm that your email is genuine then you'll be flooded with mail trying to get to you give them your bank details (so your funds can be transferred... More like transferred OUT of your account) or con you into opening an...

Read more: Fake Funds has been DONATED eMail warning!

Latest firms to illegally add people to spam list

danger iconYet another of these firms, who DO have a website, unlike the infected spam emailers, that has decided to illegally add my personal email address to their business mailing eLists.

Although illegal, there is often no way of stopping these mailing firms from adding you to their lists without your permission as trying to get them to stop simply confirms your email address is valid so they sell it on time and time again, all quite illegal as you never gave them permission to use it in the first...

Read more: Latest firms to illegally add people to spam list

Fake eBay Invoice email Warning.

danger iconAnother spoofed infected email, alledgedly from ebay.com which considering I use ebay.co.uk is a bit of a warning, but when my mail filtering software flags it as spam automatically, I'm looking very carefully at this. Turns out the return path is to an Australian email address as the infected payload.

The attachment has a filename starting with ebay_(random numbers)_(date).zip, addressed to Dear Customer, Please open the attached file to view invoice. Something you should never do is open any...

Read more: Fake eBay Invoice email Warning.

Yet another Illegal add to email spam list

danger iconLatest firm to illegally add me to their mailing list is trinityleedsproperties using solidemails.biz. Shame that there is no easy way to name and shame these junk mail "firms". If there was a central body to report this sort of thing for immediate prosecution I'd be a regular contributor! Unfortunately, as these "firms" are all fakes and not genuine, attempting to get them to stop is a waste of time and energy as doing so only advertises that the email address they are using is genuine. Simply...

Read more: Yet another Illegal add to email spam list

Your Reservation is now confirmed! email Warning!

danger iconAn old one, but nonetheless one worth reminding us about as it is still going around.

Supposedly a confirmation of your reservation through booking.com (This is spoofed, not from the genuine booking.com) and in fact comes from an Italian website, host26-14-static.110-62-b.business.telecomitalia.it

Further details can be found on MyOnline Security website, a great site to check for any ongoing suspicious emails. As always, never click to view any unsolicited attachment. Of course, another dead...

Read more: Your Reservation is now confirmed! email Warning!

You should view it - eMail Warning!

danger iconLatest infected email to arrive in my inbox is supposedly from a German email address and has an attached chat history, alledgedly!

Contents are:

Good day!
You should know this. View the chat history that I've attached. Remember 
it's strongly confidential, so please don't show it to anyone.
Mrs. Jamir Bailey | 597-720-7211
Industrial, Shoes, Movies & Health | White, Monahan and Medhurst

The attachment in my case is called history Casandra UnionFO.zip

As always, never open or view and...

Read more: You should view it - eMail Warning!

Internal ONLY - Spoof eMail Warning!

danger iconWell, this was a sneaky one!

Received this email, apparently from Administrator {AT} dragonrider.co.uk (my own domain) asking me to click on a non-existing link, on my own site, to download from a fileserver directory New_Banking_Details which is an invalid link anyway.

Very well hidden in the link was the actual infected web site link which was ezonlinedining.com/securestorage/##filename##.html

Absolute Spoof and a highly dangerous link to a very malicious web site and files. Delete any...

Read more: Internal ONLY - Spoof eMail Warning!

FAKE Halifax online banking eMail Warning!

danger iconLatest infected eMail to arrive today is alledgedly from the Halifax (UK Bank) but is in fact sent via a UK Gym's website/genuine email address.

With a subject of Your Halifax online banking needs updating alledgedly sent from, and to info {AT} concept..........uk.com with your email hidden in the latter, The name of the sender is Halifax which is spoofed of course.

The spelling mistakes included in the body of the email are quite a giveaway that this is a fake, not to mention there is no...

Read more: FAKE Halifax online banking eMail Warning!

Dartford Crossing Payment Receipt - Warning!

danger iconYet another infected email today, this time with a spoofed or false sender, alledgedly from dartford-crossing-charge.service.g*v.uk which is actually sent from asianet.co.th so it's actually sent from some spammers/hackers based in Thailand. An infected file is attached, this time an Excel file.

Further details about this hack can be safely found on the myonlinesecurity website. As always, treat any unrecognised emails with attachments with extreme caution and delete then and never, ever view...

Read more: Dartford Crossing Payment Receipt - Warning!